2022 Pacific Four Series Set for New Zealand

After an abbreviated launch in 2021, the Pacific Four Series will make its proper debut in June 2022.

World Rugby has announced that the Pacific Four Series will take place in New Zealand over three match days: June 5th, 11th, and 17th. The competition will see New Zealand and Australia join Canada and the USA with all sides seeing each other once.

The Pacific Four provides an annual, top-tier competition for the best non-European women’s rugby nations. All of the contesting teams currently reside in the top six of World Rugby Rankings:

  • New Zealand (2nd)
  • Canada (4th)
  • Australia (5th)
  • USA (6th)

Additionally, all four sides received automatic Rugby World Cup 2021 qualification via their 2017 World Cup performances.

The 2022 Series will provide a high quality competition for the four sides before the World Cup this fall (also set for New Zealand). Future iterations of the Pacific Four will serve as qualifiers for the new (almost) annual World Rugby WXV competition launching in 2023.

The 2021 Series saw the USA and Canada play a pair of games in Glendale, Colorado. The Canadians won both matches.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s